2022 MLA Award Recipients

As announced at the business meeting at the virtual annual conference on March 5, 2022, here are the recipients of the awards given by the Music Library Association.

MLA Diversity Scholarship

The MLA Diversity Scholarship Award offers candidates from under-represented groups the opportunity to pursue a master’s degree in library and information science (MLIS) with financial support. 

The 2022 recipients of the MLA Diversity Scholarship are Michelle Rivera and Jade Vaughan.


Kevin Freeman Travel Grant

The Kevin Freeman Travel Grant supports travel and hotel expenses to attend the Music Library Association annual meeting. Recipients must be either a student, recent graduate, or a colleague new to the profession. The grant will be used towards attending the 2023 conference.

The recipients are Margot Cuddihy, Geo Flores, Jackson Harmeyer, and Mia Watts.


Paraprofessional/Public Librarian Travel Grant

The Paraprofessional/Public Librarian Travel Grant is intended to support travel and hotel expenses to attend the Music Library Association annual meeting. This is the first year this grant has been offered. The grant will be used towards attending the 2023 conference.

The first recipients of the Paraprofessional/Public Librarian Travel Grant are Rita Alfaro, Abigail Bass, Jennifer Eltringham, Kathryn Kuntz, and Amanda Steadman.


Carol June Bradley Award

The Carol June Bradley Award supports studies that involve the history of music libraries or special collections. This year’s recipients are:

Carolyn Doi for her project, “Sounds of Home,” documenting local music collections across Canada; and
Patricia Sasser for her project, “Documenting Music among Russian Jewish Kharbinsty, 1910-1929,” with research at the New York Public Library.


Dena Epstein Award

The Dena Epstein Award supports research in archives or libraries internationally on any aspect of American music. This year’s recipients are:

Michael Cooper for his book-length biography project about Margaret Allison Bonds;
Michael Kramer for his book project, “This Machine Kills Fascists: What the Folk Music Revival Can Teach Us About the Digital Age”;
David Rugger, for his book project, “Simple Man: Klaus Nomi’s Life and Art”; and
Emmalouise St. Amand for her dissertation on semi-professional and amateur Black girl groups in New York City between 1950 and 1965.


Vincent H. Duckles Award

The Vincent H. Duckles Award is the Music Library Association’s annual prize for the best book-length bibliography or reference work in music.

This year’s recipient is Alexander Sanchez-Behar, for his book, John Adams: A Research and Information Guide. (Routledge, 2020)


Richard S. Hill Award

The Richard S. Hill Award is an annual award for the best article on music librarianship or article of a music-bibliographic nature.

This year’s Hill Award goes to Elizabeth Berndt-Morris and Sandi-Jo Malmon for their article, “Surveying Composers: Methods of Distribution, Discoverability, and Accessibility of their Works and the Corresponding Impact on Library Collections.” Fontes Artis Musicae 67, no. 2 (2020): pp. 81-98.


Eva Judd O’Meara Award

The Eva Judd O’Meara Award honors the best review published in Notes.

This year’s recipient is K. Dawn Grapes for her review of The Norton Guide to Teaching Music History. Notes 77, no. 2 (2020): pp. 310-312.