2023 MLA Award Recipients

As announced on March 4, 2023 during the business meeting of MLA’s annual conference, here are the recipients of travel, research, and publication awards given by the Music Library Association.

MLA Diversity Scholarship
The MLA Diversity Scholarship Award offers financial support to candidates from underrepresented groups who are pursuing a master’s degree in library and information science (MLIS). The recipients are Yee Wing Chan and Thi Lettner.


Kevin Freeman Travel Grant
The Kevin Freeman Travel Grant supports travel and hotel expenses to attend the Music Library Association annual meeting. Recipients must be either a student, recent graduate, or a colleague new to the profession. The recipients are Yee Wing Chan, Will Scharfenberger, and Kaylea Hester.


Paraprofessional/Public Librarian Travel Grant

The Paraprofessional/Public Librarian Travel Grant is intended to support travel and hotel expenses to attend the Music Library Association annual meeting. The recipients are Will Scharfenberger and Brian Zamek.


Carol June Bradley Award
The Carol June Bradley Award supports studies that involve the history of music libraries or special collections. This year’s recipient is Kimmy Szeto, for his sabbatical research toward a book project that “explores the transformation of the music cataloger into expert data curator, knowledge creator, and information policymaker.”


Walter Gerboth Award
The Walter Gerboth Award is given to an MLA member who is in the first five years of their professional library career, and is intended to assist research-in-progress in music or music librarianship. This year’s recipient is Whitney Thompson, for biographical research of Victorian-era composer Charlotte Alington Barnard in UK archives.


Dena Epstein Award
The Dena Epstein Award supports research in archives or libraries internationally on any aspect of American music. This year’s recipients are Chase Castle, for his dissertation research “White: Race and Power in American Evangelical Hymnody, 1840–1900” and Allison Robbins, for research toward a book project, “Indigenous Sound Territories on the Plains and in the Archives.”


Vincent H. Duckles Award
The Vincent H. Duckles Award is the Music Library Association’s annual prize for the best book-length bibliography or reference work in music. This year’s recipient is Walter Clark, for his book, Joaquín Rodrigo: A Research and Information Guide.


Richard S. Hill Award
The Richard S. Hill Award is an annual award for the best article on music librarianship or article of a music-bibliographic nature.
This year’s Hill Award goes to Kara Handren and Kyla Jemison for their article, “Preserving the Music O’Canada: A Case Study in Adopting an Ebooks Platform for the Discovery of Music Scores.” Music Reference Services Quarterly 24, no. 4 (2021)


Eva Judd O’Meara Award

The Eva Judd O’Meara Award honors the best review published in Notes. This year’s recipient is Justin Vickers for his review “Michael Tippett: The Biography.” Notes 77, no. 3 (2021).


MLA would also like to congratulate its 2023 elected officers and board members, listed below.
Advertising Manager: Marci Cohen
Assistant Convention Manager: Morgan Davis
Assistant Web Manager: Kerry Masteller
Board members:
Assistant Fiscal Officer: Rahni Kennedy
Assistant Parliamentarian: Angela Pratesi
Assistant Planning & Reports Officer: Houman Behzadi
Student/Early Career Representative: Blaine Brubaker